rashelk

Time Alone

In Motherhood on August 23, 2012 at 6:35 pm

My son is off having an adventure with “Mimi”, his grandmother.  And my daughter is here at home with me, all snug as a bug in her crib right now; enjoying her nap.  It is refreshing to have time alone with my daughter.  It has been close to 10 or 12 weeks since I have enjoyed this luxury.  And while I know how different my children are, this time alone with her is a good reminder that yes, indeed, they are different.  Just a few minutes ago, Norah climbed up onto the couch, curled up in a little ball, put her thumb in her mouth and closed her eyes.  She did not go to sleep.  But the mere fact that she is aware enough of the fact that she is tired enough to sleep at the mere age of 21 months startles me.  Nathan never would have admitted fatigue had gotten the better of him.  Still, today he won’t unless he has a fever.  And he is 3 1/2 now.  She also played nicely on her own today mushing around playdough for about 20 minutes while I did some chores.  Nathan would have wanted me sitting there with him at this age.  And while putting her down to sleep just now, she told me to sing and when she didn’t like the song she said, “no.”  I sang another song.  When that song ended she wanted, “more.”  Then she simply drifted off to sleep.  You guessed it…  my son would never be put down for a nap that easily.  I adore them both like crazy.  Together they can be the sweetest little play mates and then suddenly the worst of enemies.  This time alone with each of them is precious.  It helps restore a connection that is unique to each pair of us.  And I am eagerly awaiting the day next week when I have the opportunity to spend a day alone with my Little Man.

Leave a Reply

lvbaby

Just another WordPress.com site

& press seams open

ironing out life's creases (& a bit about sewing, knitting, cooking, & just making it through the messy bits)

