rashelk

Fresh Tomato Soup

In Cooking, What's for dinner? on September 15, 2012 at 3:33 am

Last night I decided to finally make something with all of the tomatoes we had harvested from our tiny garden.  There weren’t quite enough to make a big batch of marinara sauce, so I opted for tomato soup.  I chose the following recipe based on the unusual inclusion of clove as an ingredient.  Maybe it’s not so strange.  But I had never heard of it.

So here’s the ingredient list: (original recipe)

  • 4 cups chopped fresh tomatoes
  • 1 slice onion
  • 4 whole cloves
  • 2 cups chicken broth
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons white sugar, or to taste

I basically followed the recipe except that I had to make a couple substitutions based on my family’s food intolerances.  Instead of butter I used coconut oil.  In place of sugar I used honey (though very little, maybe a teaspoon).  And I used coconut flour instead of all-purpose flour to create the roux.  Of course this roux is not quite like a flour roux, but it worked just fine.  I also added some fresh basil leaves from the garden and sautéed about a ¼ of an onion with 2 cloves of garlic.  This soup turned out to be one of the lightest tomato soups I have ever had and was absolutely delicious.  The kids both ate theirs all up and they didn’t even have a grilled cheese sandwich to go with it!  Mmmm, that sounds good.

Image

The nasturtiums are simply for “plating” purposes.  The kiddos wanted to make the soup look pretty so they picked a bunch.  Yes, they can be eaten, but they are extremely peppery for my little ones.

Leave a Reply

lvbaby

Just another WordPress.com site

& press seams open

ironing out life's creases (& a bit about sewing, knitting, cooking, & just making it through the messy bits)

